20% Special Sale Ends Today! Hurry Up!!!

Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation

In a significant move towards recognizing and honoring exceptional contributions to investigation work in the Indian law enforcement landscape, the Union Home Ministry has instituted the Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation. This prestigious award aims to promote professionalism and acknowledge outstanding efforts in the field of investigations carried out by police officers across various levels.

This topic of “Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation” is important from the perspective of the UPSC IAS Examination, which falls under General Studies Portion.

Announcement and Awardee Details

Announcement by Union Home Ministry

The Union Home Ministry made a noteworthy announcement on a Saturday, unveiling the list of police officers who have been selected to receive the esteemed Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation.

  • The announcement stands as a testament to the government’s commitment to appreciating exceptional contributions in the realm of investigation.

Diverse Selection of Awardees

A total of 140 police officers have been chosen for this distinction, reflecting the dedication and competence exhibited across different units of law enforcement. The selection encompasses officers from various branches and regions, demonstrating a commitment to recognizing excellence on a comprehensive scale.

  • Among the awardees, 15 are from the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), 12 from the National Investigation Agency (NIA), and 10 from the Uttar Pradesh police force.
  • Notably, 22 of the awardees are women officers, highlighting the increasingly significant role played by women in law enforcement.

Distribution of Awardees

Diverse Representation

The distribution of the Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation is spread across a range of central and state-level agencies, with the focus being on acknowledging exemplary investigative work carried out across the nation.

  • Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) personnel constitute 15 of the awardees.
  • The National Investigation Agency (NIA) has 12 of its officers recognized.
  • The Uttar Pradesh police force, showcasing its commitment to investigative excellence, boasts 10 awardees.

Award Objective: Fostering Professionalism and Excellence

The Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation was instituted with a clear and vital objective in mind: to bolster and reinforce professional standards within the realm of investigation and to commend those who have exhibited exceptional skills and dedication in carrying out their investigative responsibilities.

  • The award serves as a strong encouragement for police officers to strive for excellence in their investigative efforts, thus ensuring a higher quality of law enforcement and justice delivery.

Recognition of Awardees

Conferred on Exceptional Groups

The Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation is conferred upon police officers from a diverse range of entities, highlighting the breadth and depth of the investigative field.

  • This recognition extends to officers from central investigating agencies such as the CBI and the NIA.
  • Officers from state and union territory police forces are also eligible for this esteemed award.
  • Investigating agencies, both at the central and state levels, are part of this recognition scheme.

Thorough Recommendation Process

The process of selecting awardees involves a meticulous recommendation and approval mechanism.

  • Recommendations for the award are made by the respective state and union territory governments.
  • These recommendations are then scrutinized and approved by the Union Home Minister.
  • A committee is involved in the finalization of the awardees, ensuring transparency and fairness in the selection process.

Historical Context and Annual Announcement

Inception in 2018

The inception of the Union Home Minister’s Medal for Excellence in Investigation occurred in the year 2018, marking a significant step in appreciating and encouraging outstanding investigative work in law enforcement.

Annual Announcement Tradition

The announcement of the recipients of this prestigious medal takes place annually on August 12th. This consistent tradition underscores the government’s dedication to recognizing and celebrating investigative excellence on a regular basis.

Related Posts

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Home Courses Plans Account
20% Special Sale Ends Today! Hurry Up!!!