China’s ‘Five Principles’ of Foreign Policy

The Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence, established in 1954 during Sino-Indian talks, are foundational to China’s foreign policy. Known as the Panchsheel Agreement, these principles include respect for territorial integrity, non-aggression, non-interference, equality and mutual benefit, and peaceful coexistence. They gained international prominence at the 1955 Bandung Conference, influencing the Non-Aligned Movement. Despite being strained by the 1962 Sino-Indian War and current geopolitical tensions, these principles remain central to China’s diplomatic approach. The 70th anniversary, marked in Beijing, aims to revive these ideals under the theme of global cooperation and shared future.

Related Posts

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Home Courses Plans Account